FOMO

FOMO – “Fear of Missing Out”

Confession time: I suffer from FOMO. Nothing is worse than staying in on a Friday night and then hearing from friends you missed an awesome night out. No refreshed and chipper feeling on a Saturday morning beats months of inside jokes and years of reminiscing over hilarious and embarrassing photos.

I think I’ve had FOMO my entire life. It’s probably what has made me join every organization possible and never miss a high school football game or Friday night of Rollerskating with my girls in 8th grade.

Guess what makes FOMO worse today than in high school? Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Foursquare. Inner monologues on Saturday morning have turned into: “What? Two of my best friends got almost 20+ points on FourSquare last night from all of their check-ins together? And all I did was watch Criminal Minds reruns and fall asleep on the couch at 8:15? Not ok!!”

Do you suffer from FOMO?

Author: AwkwardVodka

Three Midwestern girls trying to adult, documenting their awkward encounters and providing expert life advice. You're welcome.

Leave a comment